“Education and instruction, piety and knowledge, should be inseparable”
St. John Baptist De La Salle
The first Grammar school directed by the De La Salle Brothers opened in Irish Street, Downpatrick in 1934 with Br Alexis Galvin as Headmaster. The school moved to its present site on Saul Street in 1937. St. Patrick’s has been serving the needs of the wider area for over seventy years and in this time it has built up a tradition of excellence and commitment to the people in the area. A large number of our students are either children of, or otherwise related to, past students of the school and this inspires a sense of loyalty on both sides.
The school is well thought of in the locality, and strives to live up to this reputation. Many past students of St. Patrick’s occupy senior positions in civic and political life, industry, business, the professions, entertainment and the media throughout Ireland and further afield. The school enjoys a fine sporting tradition and participates regularly in provincial sports competitions in soccer, basketball and Gaelic football. Many former students have featured on successful County Down football teams.
As a voluntary aided Grammar school, St. Patrick’s is owned and directed by the De La Salle Brothers. The order was founded in Rheims in 1680 by St. John Baptist De La Salle and the congregation has a 300-year tradition of directing schools and being involved in educational enterprises. De La Salle was canonised in 1900 and was declared the Patron Saint of all Teachers in 1950.
Working in closed collaboration with the Brothers is a group of dedicated lay teachers who bring to the school a wealth of talent, expertise and experience.